The creeper’s gonna steal our stuff again! :0

Monday, August 22, 2011 at 10:52 pm (Uncategorized) (, , )

52. Hello, Gorgeous! – MaryJanice Davidson
53. Scared Stiff – Annelise Ryan
54. Drop Dead Gorgeous – MaryJanice Davidson

Last year, after a couple of authors found my blog, I resolved to be more careful of what I said here, because I’m really not out to offend anyone.  Let’s forget that promise for a mo.  WHAT HAPPENED to MJD!?!  I’ve read some of her other books, and then the cyborg series came up in my queue, and OH MY GOD.  Is this seriously the same author?  Heavy on dialogue, light on EVERYTHING ELSE that makes a book enjoyable and worth reading.  Plot’s barely there, no depth, characters are paper dolls.  The action just moves right along with no regard for what came before or after, and I sat there bewildered as these characters just bounced around like brainless puppets on strings.  I regret spending $2 on each book.  I regret even more giving them to a friend last Christmas before I’d pre-screened them.  God, I hope she doesn’t hate me. :/

Luckily, I cleansed my palate with more Mattie Winston.  Oh jeez, the Humiliation Conga that poor woman goes through in these books.  Normally I cringe if I have to watch or read about someone being so soundly humiliated, but the situations here are SO outside of reality that it just becomes awesome.  I refer to the Cottage Cheese Incident, for example.  I desperately hope my library put in an order for the next one, coming out in a couple of weeks.

Leave a comment