Slowly losing my mind…

Saturday, October 15, 2011 at 4:26 pm (Uncategorized) (, , )

60. Gods Behaving Badly – Marie Phillips
61. One for the Money – Janet Evanovich

Earlier today I had a weird flashback of a book that I’d read recently, and since I’ve been keeping track of my books for the last two years, I thought it’d be easy to look over the lists and find it.  But it wasn’t there.  Either I’d forgotten to record it, or I’d read it sometime in 2009, in which case my sense of “recent” is somewhat flawed.  Strange how memory works.

Anyway, #60 was nice, a bit slow to get going, but interesting.  The pacing is a bit unusual, in that the start of what we’d traditionally consider the Hero’s Journey doesn’t occur until about the mid-way point.  I heard there was a movie adaptation in the works, and I’ll bet you anything they’ll move the start of the Quest to the beginning, like audiences are used to.

I’ve had #61 for quite some time, and it wasn’t until I saw the trailer for that movie last weekend that reminded me I should get going on it.  It was a bit darker and more disturbing than I expected, especially if you’re comparing it to the trailer, but I’ll gladly continue with the series for a bit.  I’m reading book 2, and picked up 4 and 5 a few days ago.

Leave a comment